IHSP People

Home and Community Care Support Services Central

We serve an area that spans 2,730 square kilometers, and has over a population of nearly 1.9 million residents living in many diverse urban and rural communities. 

We have divided our region into six planning areas known as sub-regions. Our sub-regions are:

  1. North York West - over 290,000 residents
  2. North York Centre - almost 400,000 residents
  3. Eastern York Region - over 380,000 residents
  4. Western York Region - almost 520,000 residents
  5. Northern York Region - over 220,000 residents
  6. South Simcoe - over 75,000 residents    

Ontario Health Teams

The Ontario government is building a connected health care system centred around patients, families and caregivers. These changes will strengthen local services, making it easier for patients to navigate the system and transition between providers.

Ontario Health Teams are being introduced to provide a new way of organizing and delivering care that is more connected to patients in their local communities. Under Ontario Health Teams, health care providers (including hospitals, doctors and home and community care providers) work as one coordinated team - no matter where they provide care.

Meet the Ontario Health Teams

On December 9, 2019, the Ontario Government announced the first cohort of 24 Ontario Health Teams, a new way of organizing and delivering care. Under Ontario Health Teams, health care providers (including hospitals, doctors, home and community care, and many more types of providers) work together as one coordinated team.

Click here to learn more about Ontario Health Teams across the province, and below are links to Ontario Health Teams serving residents within the communities that we serve:  

Additional Resources:

Central LHIN Sub-Regions Map